style: Philosophy

duration: 60 min

Philosophy – Purusha and Prakriti

Yoga Sutras - discussion Purusha and Prakriti
Pada I verse 1-3

Purusha and Prakriti: The process of realization through Yoga rests on the discovery of pure consciousness (purusha) as separate from all the many false identities, which are considered to be evolutes of primal matter (prakriti). These principles of purusha and prakriti are part of the philosophical system known as Sankhya. Yoga and Sankhya are two of the six systems of Indian philosophy.

Definition of Yoga: The first four sutras define Yoga, with that definition being expanded upon in the other sutras. In a systematic process of meditation, you gradually move your attention inward, through all the levels of your being, gaining mastery along the way (1.2). Eventually you come to rest in your true nature, which is beyond all of those levels (1.3). This action and the realization of this center of consciousness, is the meaning of Yoga.

1.3 Then the Seer abides in Itself, resting in its own True Nature, which is called Self-realization.
(tada drashtuh svarupe avasthanam)

tada = then, at that time; at the time of concentration and meditation
drashtuh = the seer's, of the soul, witness, Atman, Self; from the root drsh, which means to see (It is significant to note that Patanjali is not trying to define who is the seer, or the nature of that seer. This is left to be answered or resolved in direct experience.)
svarupe = in its own nature, own formĀ  or essence; (sva = own; rupa = form)
avasthanam = stability, settling, remaining, being in a state, resting, standing, lying, abiding; the root stha means to stand

Cora Wen

Over the past 25 years, Cora Wen has built her reputation as an internationally acclaimed yoga practitioner and teacher.

Learn more about Cora